Show Data
Concert Grand - Concert VI
Concert Grand - Concert VI

The sixth and final concert of the Monterey Symphony’s season, Concert Grand, will conclude in grand fashion! Music by Prokofiev, Liszt, Falla, and Tchaikovsky, round out an amazing season of great music. Sergei Prokofiev’s Symphony No. 1 was written in a throwback style akin to Haydn, and Tchaikovsky’s popular and familiar “1812 Overture,” composed in 1880 to commemorate the failure of Napoleon’s army to invade Russia in 1812, will showcase an explosive musical experience. The highlight of this concert will be Franz Liszt’s Piano Concerto No. 2, performed by the incomparable Philippe Bianconi at the piano. Liszt perfected the art of thematic transformation, and took it to an extreme level with this impassioned concerto. Also featured will be Manuel de Falla’s lovely Noches en los Jardines de España, his most Impressionist-style work that details three gardens in a setting for piano and orchestra. Come close the Concert Grand season with the Monterey Symphony in this great concert programmed for all of the great fans of great classical music!

Join us one hour prior to every performance for our pre-concert lectures presented by musicologist Dr. Todd Samra



Max Bragado-Darman / Conductor


Philippe Bianconi / Piano




Prokofiev / Symphony No. 1, Op. 25 ('Classical')

Liszt / Piano Concerto No. 2, S. 125

de Falla / en los Jardines de España, G. 49 (Nights in the Gardens of Spain) 

Tchaikovsky / "1812 Overture," Op. 49


Personal Basket